Concealed Carry NOLA

NRA Certified & LSP Registered Instructors

Welcome To Concealed Carry NOLA

Dedicated to teaching Knowledge, Skills & Attitude.

"We bring personal & home defense to you on your schedule"

CLICK HERE for our new Baton Rouge Website!

Click Here Amazon New Shooter Beginner Class Offer

The following is from Louisiana State Legislation regarding concealed handgun permits and required training:

Act 4 of the First Extraordinary Session of the 1996 Legislature amended and re-enacted R.S. 40:1379.3 providing for the issuance of statewide concealed handgun permits by the Deputy Secretary of the Department of Public Safety & Corrections (DPS). Obtaining a CHP in Louisiana requires a 9 hour certification course which covers:
* One hour of instruction on handgun nomenclature and safe handling procedures of a revolver and semi-automatic pistol;
* One hour of instruction on ammunition knowledge and fundamentals of pistol shooting;
* Three hours of instruction on the use of deadly force and conflict resolution which will include a review of R.S. 14:18 through 14:22 and which may include a review of any other laws relating to the use of deadly force;
* One hour of instruction on handgun shooting positions;
* One hour of instruction on child access prevention; and
* Two hours of actual live range fire and proper handgun cleaning procedures
o Live range fire shall include 12 rounds each at 6 feet, 10 feet, and 15 feet for a total of 36 rounds;
o Each applicant or permittee must perform at least one safe reload of the handgun at each distance;
o Each applicant or permittee must score 100% hits within the silhouette portion of a NRA B-27 type silhouette target with a least 36 rounds

After completion of the required course, the applicant then sends in the application and required fees & documents. After passing the criminal and medical background check, the applicant will then be issued a permit.

A Louisiana CHP is valid for up to 5 years. When nearing expiration, the permit holder must take a re-certification class to apply for a renewal.

Fees charged by State Police for CHP Application:

Notice! Beginning August 15, 2010, the Louisiana State Police Concealed Handgun Permit Section will cease issuing 2 and 4 year permits. All permits thereafter will be valid for five years. The following fee schedule will apply:

Original/First-Time Applicants:

Ages 21 - 64 $125

65 Years of Age or Older $62.50

NOTE: If you have not continuously resided within the State of Louisiana for the 15 years immediately preceding the date on which your application is received, an additional $50 non-refundable fee shall be submitted. This is only for first-time applicants and is not required for any subsequent renewals.

Renewals:

Ages 21 - 64 $125

65 Years of Age or Older $62.50

NOTE: For renewal applications the additional $50 non-refundable fee and the submission of a fingerprint card is not applicable.

NOTE: ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE, and must be paid by money order, cashier's check, or certified check.

Training

Original/First-Time Applicants:

In addition to meeting the qualifications in R.S. 40:1379.3(C), an applicant must demonstrate competence with a handgun by completion of an approved firearms safety or training course taught by an NRA or P.O.S.T. certified instructor that is registered with State Police, or completion of small arms training while serving in the military (as evidenced by a DD-214), [active service members, reservist and national guard members must include a clear photocopy of their military ID (front & back) with a copy of their last qualification record from their 201 file], or possession of a current valid license to carry a concealed weapon issued by a parish law enforcement officer.

Renewals:

Pursuant to LAC 55:I:1307.D, each permittee applying for a renewal of his permit shall complete additional educational training within one year prior to submitting a renewal application. To obtain renewal training, please contact one of the LSP registered instructorss